August 4, 2015 – Elder Hobbs’ Letter

  • Companion: Elder Combrink
  • Area: Jennings, Louisiana
So I’m officially in my mission, except it’s not Texas………. Guess Where? Well if you guessed Louisiana you would be right! I am in the Jennings Branch with happens to be the largest area in all of our mission! it was a 3 hour drive to get to our apartment! We ended up getting there at 10:20 pm ish and when we are supposed to be in our apartment every night by 9:30 pm, that is very late. Yesterday was a long day. I was up at 1:30 am at the Travel office at the MTC by 2:30 am and at the airport by 4:30am! We found out you can’t get tickets or check your bags till 5am so we sat there a while.
So we were all [told we] had to pay for our own checked luggage and for two bags its $60 and they would reimburse us. Were were told that if we didn’t have the money we need to talk to the travel office ahead of time and they would get us some. But we were told not to pay for others because the chances of not getting the money were high. Well there was a sister (Sister Fransis) whose card was declined repetitively and it was 5am in the morning so the bank was closed and we didn’t have a phone. As I sat there I felt like I needed to pay for it and take care of it, even though I might not ever get the money back. So I did, she was able to check her bags in and every thing went fine and when we got to the mission they said they would take care of it and reimburse me. I know that if we follow the promptings of the spirit that the Lord will take care of us, and even if i never got that $60 i would of been blessed.
I am on my mission to teach T.H.E.M. (Texas Houston East Mission) in T.H.E Mission (has a nice ring to it). Today we already got our first contact who said he will give us a call, he was just sitting outside of the library, and I started thinking “lets go talk to him” and then next thing I know my companion (Elder Combrink (Com-brink)) started walking up to him. We plan on going and getting denied 20 times today/20 contacts (which is making communication with the intent of sharing our message on Christ.) (If any one wants to hear our message let me know and i would love you share it with you too). The idea behind that is to get denied, you got to be trying in order to get denied, but hopefully we won’t actually get denied that many times, and they will want to hear the message.
This Saturday I get to go to the Batten Rouge temple to do baptisms for the dead with a recent convert, I’m so excited! And then later this month I get to go to the Houston Temple for a session which is going to be a 3 1/2 hour drive!!! I can’t wait to go!
In our mission we had a generally authority tell us that if we are living obedient to our mission rules that we WILL have at least one baptism a transfer! So we are living them to exactness. Exact obedience brings exact blessings!
Fast Sunday in the MTC was amazing, the testimonies in Sacrament meeting were none stop! That was the first I’ve ever heard a meeting like that but I guess we are in the MTC.
I always love hearing from all of you especially letters, but emails work too! I will try to write you back if you write me. My address for about the next 12 weeks (while I’m training) is:
          Elder Brian Hobbs
          113 S Adams Street  #8
          Welsh, Louisiana 70591
Last of all I want to leave you all with my testimony of the truth of this gospel. I KNOW it is true, and nothing will shake my faith of that. I KNOW that Joseph Smith did see Christ and the Father. I KNOW that he was the first prophet of our the restored Gospel of Jesus Christ. I KNOW that the Book of Mormon is 2000% true and it is truly another witness of Christ!  I KNOW that ANYONE who prays to know the truth of things with a real desire for an answer WILL receive an answer. Then they too will know of the truth of these things. I bear witness the Christ really does live and that God is our loving Father in Heaven, and that he loves us very much! He only wants the best for us and as 2 Nephi 31:10 says, “Follow thou me” we need to follow Jesus and through him we can live with God again! HE LIVES! CHRIST LIVES! HE LOVES US! these things i leave with you in the name of our Savior Jesus Christ Amen.
                                    “God be with you till we meet again”
Leave a Reply

