Baby Training – October 27, 2015

  • Companion: Elder Sirrine
  • Area: Jennings Branch, Louisiana

Well I didn’t get transferred so I’m still in Welsh Louisiana, and I thought I was done with training…. But I guess not! Instead of getting a follow up trainer, I got a brand new missionary fresh off the plane! His name is Elder Sirrine, he is from Draper Utah.

Yep I’m “baby training” out of the two new English speaking Elders I got to train, and why me out of every one else in the mission? The other elder is being trained by an Elder in my MTC district who is a great man. Another Spanish speaking Elder who came out with me is training too. And then there is another Elder who has been out a while training the other Spanish speaking one. So out of 4 new Elders 3 of us are training right after we got done being trained. No one I talked to has seen that percentage of “baby trainers”. It is definitely going to be a fun two transfers training. If I do get to stay to finish training my son (yes we have “families”) both transfers I will have stayed in the same area for 6 months! That’s 1/4 my mission in one area!! But hey, I can’t complain, I love it here!

It will be an interesting experience for the both of us! We already had to find out way out of Kingwood TX (Houston) and get to Welsh in one piece without a GPS. And there are fun times that lie ahead! But we have The Lord with us and as long as we follow the spirit Elder Sirrine will turn out OK and I might make it through alive, well if we are following the spirit he will turn out to be a GREAT missionary and I will be strengthened as well!

This week has been full of rain! It rained for 3 days straight! I love the rain and bad weather though so I thought it was great! Our power went out Sunday night about 8 pm, after a loud pop crash noise that was not lightning. We went and looked outside, it was still pouring and all the lights on the street and surrounding buildings was still on, but our apartment complex was dark. It was on by 3:00 am in the morning when I woke up and found one light we missed and didn’t get turned off and of course it was the hallway light and it lit up our room.

I hope you are all having a great week! Be safe and always remember to center your lives on Christ. He will lead us to and through our next steps. I know that if we do that we will be blessed with more blessings than we can ever imagine. Christ’s Atonement works. The Book of Mormon is true. Joseph Smith was a Prophet of God. And Thomas S. Monson is the Living Prophet today. This Church is true! In the name of Jesus Christ Amen.

 

Excerpt from letter home:

So after I got over the shock of the call to train, I got an over whelming peace and comfort telling me this is what the Lord wanted me to do. A few hours later I got the thought, “Who would trust a 12 year old (or 12 week old) to raise a baby?” almost immediately I got the thought, “The Lord would, so shut up and trust him!” So I’ve decided I will trust in the Lord and his judgment because I don’t feel qualified for it!

Leave a Reply

