Weather Change – November 23, 2015

  • Companion: Elder Sirrine
  • Area: Jennings Branch, Louisiana

Well this week has been a good one. Elder Sirrine and I got the chance to go to New Missionary Training.  In which every new missionary and their trainer goes to their 4th week out. We had to be over by Houston at 9AM Wednesday morning so we got permission to stay at our Zone leader’s apartment in Vidor, Texas. This is an hour away from where we live, so it took an hour of drive time off [of] our morning. However, Tuesday there was a tornado here in Louisiana (Sadly not close enough to us; I want to see a tornado!)  But it brought some really bad winds all day Tuesday and in the afternoon and in the night it brought a ton of rain! At our apartment we only have curb side parking, so we are in a gutter. And [the vehicle] being in the gutter made for a fun experience. We had our bundles of stuff to go stay at the Zone leader’s place and it was like there was a lake above us that just let all the water out. When we opened the doors to the car we noticed the water was only 3″ below the opening of the door on the one side. I was driving so I had to get across the water, not just jump into the car from the curb. Needless to say my feet got wet; I had to attempt to get across 5ft of water out from the curb. Once we got on some of the main roads there was not so much water on the road, as all the side roads, but the rain still was coming down. One thing is for sure, I wished it always rained that much where ever I live, because I love the rain and bad weather! The worse the weather gets the happier I get! I know I am weird, but if you didn’t know that before, now you do. Sunday we finally got cold weather here! From what everyone tells us it normally doesn’t get this cold until late January. The temperature was in the 30s and early 40s and with Humidity it “Feels Like” 30, or so the weather app tells us. It actually felt really good out, until we got on bikes, then it got a little cold.

Over all it’s been a good week….I think. It’s so much of a blur I don’t even know what has happened. In the moment, time seems to be at a stand-still, but when the week is over it feels like the whole week was just a day. In turn it feels like I’ve been on a mission forever and my life, but I thought it was just last week I left the MTC. High School even feels like a dream. The Holidays definitely feel different to me. I don’t realize that Thanksgiving is Thursday or that Christmas is just around the corner. I’m a musician, and I’m not practicing Christmas music…. that’s weird. It just got cold, No Snow, No Christmas music on the radio or Christmas movies on TV. Now those last two are because I haven’t seen TV or heard the radio in a few months. But overall it’s been a good mission and a good week.

In the light of Thanksgiving, I’m thankful for all of you. I’m thankful for my Savior and the sacrifice he made for me. I’m thankful to be on a mission serving the Lord. I can’t think of any place I’d rather be. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints is Christ true church on the earth today. The Book of Mormon is the word of God and we can come closer to Christ be abiding by its precepts. Joseph Smith was a Prophet of God and Thomas S. Monson is now the living Prophet of God on the earth today. I’m grateful for all I have, and all I know, and that I have the privilege to share it. I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Leave a Reply

