Anyone Who Humbles Himself – June 27, 2016

  • Companion: Elder Heath
  • Area: Kingwood 2nd

So today I’ve decided to fast for help, for everything going on right now. I’ve fasted for help on fast Sunday, time and time again, but overall not a lot has come from it. Ok, well not how i want it, or in my time. However this time I’m fasting by myself, and on P-Day of all days. I’m positive that the Lord flat out told me I need to do this, it was quite the experience. Last night, I was “pondering” a lot of things. Then our district leader called (while Elder Heath was in the shower) making his nightly phone calls, and we talked about the week we had. I had two great exchanges, this week. (One with Elder Knebel our zone leader, and then one with Elder Andrew in Kingwood 1st, I was gone from Monday night to Wednesday night.) So after this conversation I remembered what President Drake said to me about pressure lasting a little longer at times than others, and that hit me. But the really cool part of it all, is out of the blue I had a book, chapter and verse come to my head. I had no clue what it was, so I quickly went to it. It was Mark 9:29 “And he said unto them, This kind can come forth by nothing, but by prayer and fasting.” I can never recall reading this before, but it hit me like a freight train and I couldn’t help but laugh out loud at it. I needed to fast. I had been praying and occasionally fasting. But not outside of the once a month. Our lesson in Sunday school just happened to be on fasting too. Then another random book and chapter came to me. Matthew 18 and the first thing I saw was the only verse I have highlighted. Verse 4, “Whosoever therefore shall humble himself as this little child, the same is greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” Well that’s what I need to do, I need to be humble. Submissive, meek, and humble, willing to submit my will to His. Then for whatever reason, I asked Him if He had anything else for me. And of course, another book, chapter, and verse came to my head. I thought I knew what it was and on the way there (finding the scripture) I was thinking how in the world does this apply. Well I was mistaken… I thought verse 17, but what came to my mind was Mosiah 2:19 and the part that stuck out to me was, “O how you ought to thank your Heavenly King!” God sure does have a sense of humor, I’d like to think. I temped him to give me more, because at the time I was thinking if these really came from God, well then, he caused me to humble myself. So I got down on my knees, thanked him, and started my fast. I’m not sure what all I’m going to get from this, but I trust the Lord will give me the strength and help I need at this time, and I’m sure it’s going to require a little more patience. But I just need to press on, and he will bless me.

Elder Brian Hobbs

183_pd211022_1

Leave a Reply

